Connect & Follow Us

Go Back

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2010 HMPRG Awards!

Health & Medicine Policy Research Group (HMPRG)
September 13, 2010

In 2006, Health and Medicine Policy Research Group (HMPRG)established an awards program, to commemorate the 25th anniversary of theorganization’s founding.  The purpose ofthe awards was to recognize public health vision and leadership in the areas ofHealth, Medicine, Policy, and Research; along with a fifth award which waspresented to a Group for its focus on the determinants of health and its impactbeyond the scope of its programs.. The awards were presented that year andagain in 2009 when we added two new award categories for an Emerging HealthLeader and a Young Health Activist.  

We are very pleased to announce the 2010 HMPRG Award Winners:

  • Health - Jose Lopez; Executive Director of the Puerto Rican Cultural Center
  • Medicine - Ghassan Souri, DDS; Vice President of Oral Health Services,  Erie Family Health Center
  • Policy - Julie Hamos; Director of the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services & Patrick Lenihan; Executive Director of the Northern Illinois Public Health Consortium
  • Research - Richard Warnecke, PhD; UIC Institute for Health Research and Policy
  • Group - Chicago Women's Health Center
  • Emerging Health Leader - Abby Hymen; Director of Youth Programs, Hyde Park Neighborhood Club

Please join us on October 7th at "Honoring Leaders in Our Midst," as we celebrate these public health leaders!  Get information about the event and order tickets

Don't forget to enter "The 'i's' Have It" Raffle for a Chance to Win Great Apple Prizes Worth $1000+ (All proceeds go to Health & Medicine) (Winners Need Not Be Present at the Event to Win)

Download RaffleFlyer

Download AwardsFlyer-91310